Desert Valley Hospice Society is proud about the awards we have received over the years. We strive to provide the best programs and services possible. Our board, staff, and volunteers make these honours possible.
Thank you so much for the
community support and recognition!

Desert Valley Hospice Society was recognized by the Town of Oliver with the 2020 Spirit of Oliver Community Group Award in recognition of their outstanding contribution to the community.

At the 2018 annual conference of the BC Hospice Palliative Care Association (BCHPCA), Lois Brummet was
honoured with the BCHPCA Award of Excellence for her outstanding service to the organization, hospices across the province, and for her leadership and advocacy for palliative care in BC.

Margaret Ingebrigtson has been a hospice volunteer for 16 years and has represented Desert Valley on the Palliative Care Rounds conference calls since 2013. She sits vigil, educates new volunteers, and assigns referrals and requests to other hospice volunteers.  For her dedication and years of service, Margaret was given a DVHS Lifetime Membership in 2019.

 Fiona Wood won  the 2018 Volunteer of the Year Award given by the Town of Oliver.  In recognition of her outstanding service, Fiona was honoured with a parade ride in a vintage car.

September 2021 Ray of Sunshine is Lynne Hesketh!    The Osoyoos Museum Society decided to celebrate Osoyoos’ 75th Anniversary throughout 2021 by giving away a floral bouquet to lucky locals.  “Since March 2021, Desert Valley Hospice Society volunteers, have been donating their time to the Osoyoos Covid-19 Vaccine Clinic. They have supported inoculators, team leaders, and registration admins from Interior Health. The volunteers have helped the clinics run smoothly and safely. One person that has done a little bit extra, based on volunteer hours, is Lynne Hesketh.  Polka Dot Door Floral Design Boutique chose the purple flowers without knowing who the recipient would be.  Lynne always wears her purple hospice volunteer shirt!”

Scroll to Top